2018 FIFA World Cup Russia

Dilma Rousseff, Vladimir Putin and FIFA President Sepp Blatter.

2014 / 2018 FIFA World Cup hand-over ceremony with Brazilian President Dilma Rousseff, FIFA President Sepp Blatter, and President of the Russian Federation Vladimir Putin.

Russia was awarded the right to host the FIFA World Cup on December 2, 2010. 12 venues in 11 cities will host the 21st FIFA World Cup June 8 – July 8, 2018.

The 2018 FIFA World Cup Russia Local Organizing Committee was founded by the Government of the Russian Federation and the Football Union of Russia in January 2011. The Local Organizing Committee (LOC) is the body responsible for preparing and staging the FIFA World Cup in Russia in 2018.

The governing body of the LOC is the Supervisory Board chaired by the President of the Russian Federation, Vladimir Putin.

First Deputy Prime Minister Igor Shuvalov is the First Deputy Chairman of the Supervisory Board. Other members include federal ministers, governors of the host regions, football authorities and business representatives.

Minister for Sport Vitaly Mutko is chairman of the LOC and Deputy Chairman of the Supervisory Board.

Alexey Sorokin is the CEO of the LOC. He previously served as Secretary General of the Football Union of Russia and was the leader of Russia’s bid to host the FIFA World Cup.

2018 World Cup Host Cities

Kaliningrad, Kazan, Moscow, Nizhny Novgorod, Rostov-on-Don, Saint Petersburg, Samara, Saransk, Sochi, Volgograd, and Yekaterinburg are the 11 host cities of the 2018 World Cup in Russia.

2018 World Cup Stadiums

2018 FIFA World Cup Host Cities

2018 FIFA World Cup Host Cities

Kaliningrad: Arena Baltika, Capacity: 45,015 (new stadium)
Kazan: Kazan Arena, Capacity: 45,105 (new stadium)
Moscow: Luzhniki Stadium, Capacity: 81,000 (upgraded) and Otkrytie Arena, Capacity: 42,000 (new stadium)
Nizhny Novgorod: Strelka Stadium, Capacity: 44,899 (new stadium)
Rostov-on-Don: Levberdon Arena, Capacity: 43,702 (new stadium)
Saint Petersburg: Zenit Arena, Capacity: 69,501 (new stadium)
Samara: Samara Stadium, Capacity: 44,918 (new stadium)
Saransk: Yubileyniy Stadium, Capacity: 45,015 (new stadium)
Sochi: Fisht Olympic Stadium, Capacity: 47,659 (Sochi 2014 Winter Olympics Stadium)
Volgograd: Central Stadium , Capacity: 45,015 (upgraded)
Yekaterinburg: Central Stadium, Capacity: 44,130, (upgraded)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.